Benton Public Utilities Commission (PUC)

The meetings are open to the public. Regular Public Utilities Commission Meetings are held on the first Monday of the month at 6 PM.

The Commission was formed based by City of Benton Ordinance 46 of 2004.  It consists of a group of unpaid citizens interested in utilities. Commissioners serve five (5) year terms. They are appointed by the Benton City Council and must be residents of the City.

The Benton Utilities commissioners have management responsibility over the Electric Department, Water Dept., Sewer Department, Billing Service Department and Purchasing Department in regards to long-term planning, personnel requirements and operational needs.

The PUC cannot set utility rates or issue bonds for the Utility Department, a right reserved for the City Council by Ordinance 46 of 2004.

Current Commission Members are:

Commissioners Term Expires
Skylyr Stott 12/31/2027
Jana Hogue 12/31/2028
Dave McCollum 12/31/2024
Jerry Ponder 12/31/2025
Brad Johnston, Chairman 12/31/2026

Excerpt from City of Benton Ordinance 46 of 2004

The Public Utility Commission of the City of Benton was created by Ordinance 46 of 2004, which states in part “. . . WHEREAS the City Council of the City has determined that the System can be most efficiently and economically operated under a commission form of management and . . .” and appointed five commissioners for the ‘Commission’. Ordinance 46 of 2004 also states in Section 2. “Successor commissioners shall be nominated by the Commission and submitted to the City Council for ratification and confirmation by a majority vote of all members of the City Council for a term of five (5) years.”


Ordinance 46 of 2004
To download Ordinances, resolutions or pre-annexation documents, go to:

  1. ‘Search Records’
  2. Select City Clerk
  3. Select Ordinance or Resolution
  4. Select the year
  5. Select the Ordinance or Resolution number

Benton Utilities | 1827 Dale Avenue | Benton, AR 72015

Copyright © 2015 Benton Utilities | Designed and Developed by